Current Events:


The Cincinnati Radiation Society is proud to partner with the Ohio Valley Section of the AIHA to host Mutty M. Sharfi, CHP, CIH on Wednessday, March 18, 2020 at the UC Reading Campus.

Mr. Sharfi will be presenting How the worlds of Health Physics and Industrial Hygiene interrelate.

Please see the Meetings page for more information.


Join us in congratulating John Cardarelli, II in being elected to be the next Health Physics Society (HPS) President-elect!

Join us in congratulating Phil Jenkins on being named a fellow of the Health Physics Society!

Join us in congratulating Tim Taulbee on being named a fellow of the Health Physics Society!


Bob Gallaghar, a member of the Radiation Unit of the Public Health Service in 1950, recognized the need to establish a discussion group in Cincinnati to foster mutual interests in the field of radiation.  The national program to foster use of atomic energy, “Atoms for Peace” also established a need to inform the public about radiation.  Over 25 businesses in the local tri-state area (Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana) were actively exploring uses of radiation.

Bob organized the first formal meeting of what was to become the Cincinnati Radiation Society (CRS) on April 15, 1952.  Attending the first CRS meeting were 75 participants from University Hospital, local industries (e.g., Proctor & Gamble, General Electric, Bendix Aviation, Cincinnati Milling & Machining), and governmental facilities (Fernald, Mound, Wright Patterson Air Force, and the United States Public Health Service).  The meeting was held at the Cincinnati Club and the cost of a five-course dinner was only $2.75.

In years following the initial meeting, local newspapers relied on the CRS for information concerning the risks associated with radiation exposure.  Although the CRS still dedicates time towards fostering knowledge about the safe use of radiation and radioactive materials (especially in our schools), our new focus is directed towards assisting first responders who need to have a unique understanding about the hazards and risks of radiation exposure in order to effectively and efficiently do their job in protecting our community in the event of a radiological terror.

The CRS, which predates the organization of the Health Physics, is proud to be the first official local chapter of the Health Physics Society.  We continue to serve our community in fostering knowledge on the benefits of radiation to society and mankind.

2019-2020 Executive Council:

President:  Wade Morris


Secretary / Treasurer:

Past President:  Scott Winters

Council Members:

Stu Hinnefeld (2021)

Megan Lobaugh (2021)

David Pugh (2020)

Awards / Nomination Committee:

Scott Winters (Past President)

Louise Buker

John Byrne

Henry Spitz

Jerry Gels

Doug Draper

Tim Taulbee


Contact Information

General Information: